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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT 
 

FINANCIAL PROGRAMS REGULATION SECTION 
 

REGULATION NO. 810. THOROUGHBRED BREEDERS’ AWARDS 
AND STATE SUPPLEMENTS 

 
  (By authority conferred on the director of the department of agriculture and rural 
development by section 7 of Act No. 279 of the Public Acts of 1995, as amended, being 
431.307 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.) 
 
 
R 285.810.1 Definitions. 
Rule 1. As used in these rules: 
  (a) "Breeder" means an individual, partnership, association, or corporation that owns a 
mare at the time of foaling. The lessee of a mare, which is registered with the jockey 
club, incorporated, at the time of foaling, is deemed the owner of the mare. 
  (b) "Conditions" means the specification of terms under which a race is conducted. 
  (c) "Department" means the Michigan department of agriculture. 
  (d) "Director" means the director of the department or his or her designee. 
  (e) "Earned track purse" means the portion of a purse offered by a thoroughbred racing 
association that is awarded for the order of finish up to 3 placings, but does not include a 
state supplement or any other awarded funds. 
  (f) "Foaling year" means the calendar year in which the mare foaled. 
  (g) "Michigan-bred horse" means a horse that meets the requirements of R 285.810.2. 
  (h) "Owner" means an individual, partnership, association, or corporation which owns a 
Michigan-bred horse and which is licensed under section 16 of Act No. 279 of the Public 
Acts of 1995, being §431.316 of the Michigan compiled laws. 
  (i) "State supplement" means money allocated by the director from state funds for an 
approved race conducted exclusively for Michigan-bred horses. 
  (j) "Thoroughbred racing association" means an association licensed by the Michigan 
racing commissioner to conduct thoroughbred horse races in Michigan. 
  (k) "Track purse" means the money offered by a thoroughbred racing association for 1 
race, but does not include a state supplement. 
  (l) "First-time breeder" is an individual, partnership, or corporation that has never 
registered as a breeder with the department. Any partnership or corporation of which any 
part of the ownership has registered as a breeder with the department is not eligible as a 
first-time breeder. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1983 AACS; 1998-2000 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.2   Eligibility of foals for breeders' awards, owners' awards, and state 
supplements. 
Rule 2. (1) To be eligible for breeders' awards, owners' awards, and state supplements, an 
owner shall comply with all of the following provisions: 
(a) A mare shall be registered with the director by February 15 of the foaling year. 



Page 2 
Courtesy of www.michigan.gov/orr 

(b) A foal shall be from a mare which was registered with the director and which was in 
Michigan on or before February 15 of the foaling year. The mare shall remain in this state 
until foaling and for not less than 7 months of the foaling year. 
(c) The jockey club, incorporated, certificate of foal registration shall state: foaled in 
Michigan, U.S.A. 
(d) Within 15 days of the date of departure of a registered mare, an owner shall give the 
director written notice of the mare's departure from Michigan. In addition, an owner shall 
give the director written notice of the mare's return to Michigan within 15 days of the 
date of return. 
(e) A department Michigan-bred certificate of thoroughbred foal eligibility shall 
accompany the jockey club, incorporated, certificate at the time of entry in a race. The 
certificate shall be issued 48 hours or more before Annual Administrative Code 
Supplement 1998 – 2000 Editon 419 post time. 
(2) If a breeder or owner has complied with all other rules, then the director may waive 
the date requirements of subrule (1)(a) and (d) of this rule for the first time a breeder or 
owner registers with the department. 
(3) A Michigan-bred certificate of thoroughbred foal eligibility shall be issued by the 
director for a Michiganbred horse that meets all of the above requirements set forth in 
subrules (1) and (2) of this rule. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1983 AACS; 1998-2000 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.3    Eligibility of races for supplements. 
  Rule 3.   (1) State supplements shall be  allocated for the following Michigan-bred horse 
races: 
    (a) Thoroughbred races approved by the director. 
    (b) The following stake races shall be run  each  year at one of  the thoroughbred tracks 
operated by a licensed association: 
    (i) Michigan futurity, 2-year-olds. 
    (ii) "Sickles Image" stake,  2-year-old,  2  divisions,   (1) colts and geldings,   (2) 
fillies. 
    (iii) "Lansing" stake, 3-year-olds, 2 divisions,   (1)  colts  and  geldings,  
  (2) fillies. 
    (iv) "Michigan Breeders" stake, 3-year-olds and up. 
    (v) "Little  Ones"  stake,  2-year-olds,  2  divisions,   (1) colts and geldings,   (2) fillies. 
    (vi) "Dowling" stake, 3-year olds, 2 divisions,   (1) colts and  geldings,  
  (2) fillies. 
    (vii) "Frontier" stake, 3-year-olds and up. 
    (viii) Larkspur - 3-year-old and up - fillies and mares. 
    (ix) Moonbeam - 3-year-old and up - fillies and mares. 
    (x) Regret - 3-year-old fillies. 
    (xi) Michigan oaks - 3-year-old fillies. 
    (2) State supplements shall be paid  first  for   races   specified   under subrule   (1)   (b) 
of this rule. If funds are not available  to  provide   state supplements for all races 
approved by the director under subrule    (1)    (a) of this rule, then the director shall 
prorate available money  at  his   or  her discretion among the races so run. 
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    (3) At least 1 Michigan-bred race shall be scheduled on each program. 
    (4) Each association licensed to conduct racing in   Michigan   shall   not offer a lesser 
track purse for a Michigan-bred race than  the   track   purse offered for a non-Michigan-
bred race that is comparable in  the  judgment  of the director. The nomination fee for a 
Michigan-bred stakes  race  shall   be equal to the nomination fee for a  comparable  
purse   offered   on   similar conditions in an open stakes race during a race meet. 
    (5) If the  programmed  Michigan-bred  race  does   not   draw   sufficient entries  to  
run,  the  licensed  racing  association  shall   not   run    a non-Michigan-bred  race  as  a  
substitute,  but  shall   run   an   approved substitute Michigan-bred  race.  Each  horse  in  
stake   races   for   2-and 3-year-old horses described in subrule   (1)   (b) of this   rule   
shall   carry equal scale weight. 
 
  History:  1979 AACS; 1983 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.4 Conditions for races; allocations of state supplements. 
Rule 4. (1) The racing association of the track where Michigan-bred horse races are to be 
conducted shall propose conditions and purses for all Michigan-bred horse races, 
including the distances to be run for specified stakes races in R 285.810.3. The conditions 
of all Michigan-bred horse races are subject to the approval of the director. The track 
shall submit race conditions to the director, in writing, not less than 18 calendar days 
before the first race is conducted for each condition book at each track. Changes in the 
conditions shall be submitted by the track to the director not less than 24 hours before the 
race is conducted. 
(2) The director, with the advice of a representative of licensed thoroughbred racing 
associations, a certified thoroughbred horsemen's organization, and the Michigan 
thoroughbred breeders and owners association, shall determine the allocation of state 
supplements. 
(3) The director shall announce, not later than 14 calendar days after receiving the 
proposed racing 
conditions, his or her allocation of state supplements to purses for each of the approved 
Michigan-bred horse races in the condition book. If proposed conditions of the Michigan-
bred horse races are not submitted to the director within the time fixed by subrule (1) of 
this rule, then the director may allocate state supplements for Michigan-bred horse races 
at his or her discretion, but state supplements shall not be allocated more than 24 hours 
before post time for the race. A state supplement shall not be allocated to a Michigan-
bred horse race after the race has been run if the race was not approved by the director. 
(4) An extra Michigan-bred horse race shall be proposed by the track to the director by 
phone or other means 24 hours or more before post time for tentative approval. The track 
shall follow the proposal with a written proposal postmarked not later than the day of the 
race. 
(5) If an approved Michigan-bred horse race does not fill, then a substitute race may be 
proposed by the track to the director by phone or other means 24 hours or more before 
post time for tentative approval. The track shall follow the proposal with a written 
proposal postmarked not later than the day of the race. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1983 AACS; 1998-2000 AACS. 
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R 285.810.5    Breeders' awards. 
  Rule 5.   (1) The director shall pay  a  breeder's  award,   in   an   amount specified by 
law, to the breeder of a Michigan-bred horse  each   time   such horse wins at a licensed 
track in this state. If more  than   1   winner   is declared, each breeder is entitled to a full 
breeder's  award.  A   breeder's award shall not be paid for races  won  after  the  date  of   
death   of   a breeder. 
    (2) A  right  to  a  breeder's  award  is  not  assignable   and   is   not inheritable. The 
director is not obligated  to  pay   breeder's   awards   in excess of available funds or other 
than as provided in these rules. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1983 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.6 Payment of breeders' awards, owners' awards, and state supplements. 
Rule 6. (1) The racing commissioner shall certify, to the director, at the completion of 
racing, in each condition book, the results of all races won by Michigan-bred horses and 
their breeders and the results of all races in which a Michigan-bred horse finished first, 
second, or third in a race that was not restricted to Michigan-bred horses. 
(2) If the eligibility of a breeder or owner to receive a breeders' award or owners' award is 
questioned, then the burden of proof that a horse was Michigan-bred or is in compliance 
with these rules is on the breeder and owner. 
(3) State supplements and owners awards may be paid to the owners of winning horses at 
least twice each year, after June 30 and after December 31, upon certification under this 
rule. 
(4) Payment of breeders' awards and owners awards shall be processed at least twice each 
year, after June 30 and after December 31. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1998-2000 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.7    Rescinded. 
 
  History:  1979 AC; 1983 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.8    Rescission. 
  Rule 8. Regulation No. 807, entitled "Purses for  Michigan-bred  Horses at Licensed 
Tracks, State Allocations," being R 285.807.1 to   R  285.807.4 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code and appearing on pages 3144  and   3145 of the 1964-65 Annual 
Supplements to the Code, is rescinded. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R 285.810.9 Owners' awards. 
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Rule 9. (1) An award of up to 30% of the earned track purse shall be paid to the purse 
account of the owner of a Michigan-bred horse that finishes first, second, or third in an 
eligible race that was not restricted to Michigan-bred or sired horses at a state-licensed 
pari-mutuel track in Michigan. 
(2) The director, with advice from the certified thoroughbred horsemen's organization 
and the Michigan thoroughbred breeders and owners association, shall determine the 
allocation of owners award percentages. 
(3) A single owners' award is limited to $10,000.00. 
 
  History: 1998-2000 AACS. 
 
 
R 285.810.10 Payment of owners awards. 
Rule 10. (1) The racing commissioner shall certify, to the director, at the completion of 
racing, in each condition book, the names of the owners of all Michigan-bred horses that 
finished first, second, or third in a race that was not restricted to Michigan-bred or sired 
horses. 
(2) If the eligibility of an owner to receive an owners' award is questioned, then the 
burden of proof that a horse was Michigan-bred or is in compliance with these rules is on 
the owner. 
(3) Owners' awards are paid in the same manner as state purse supplements under R 
285.810.6 
 
  History: 1998-2000 AACS. 


